What can I do with a membership?
You’ll have access to Chester’s community hub. We’ll connect you with entertainment, research, and people.
Who can become a member?
Anyone age 6 and up that lives in Chester, New Hampshire.
What do I need become a member?
Bring in something that shows your current Chester address. Something like a valid New Hampshire driver’s license or utility bill works great. A photo ID is required for adults. Parents need to be present and provide proof of residency in order for their child (ages 18 and under) to be issued a card.
What if I don’t live in Chester but want to be a member?
No problem! You can pay an annual fee of $40 dollars for full membership.
How long may I borrow Library items?
|New Books, New Audios, All Magazines||2 weeks|
|Audio Books, Books, and DVD TV series||3 weeks|
|Downloadable books (audios and eBooks)||Varies by Title|
|Kindle Fire, Kindle Fire for Kids, Paperwhite, Nabi Jr.||2 weeks|
What fines do I have to pay if I return an item late?
|Books, magazines, audio books, CDs, cake tins, etc.||10 cents/day|
|eReaders (Kindle, Nabi), DVDs, museum passes||$1 dollar/day|
|Telescope||$10 dollars/day, New replacement library card:$2 dollars|
Patrons with items 3 months overdue or with accrued fines of $15.00 or more will have privileges suspended until all fines have been paid and items are returned.
Please be courteous to fellow library users and bring your items back in a timely fashion. Setup email notifications via your online Library account to remind yourself whenn items are about to become overdue.
What happens if a Library item gets damaged or lost while in my possession?
If an item becomes lost or damaged, we charge you the retail price of item plus a $5.00 processing fee. You may also provide an exact duplicate of the item damaged/lost, plus pay the processing fee. For audio books, we charge an additional $10 if the audio book case is damaged or lost.